Death note review

Death Note, written by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by Takeshi Obata, was serialized in Shueisha’s shōnen manga magazine Weekly Shōnen Jump from December 1, 2003, to May 15, 2006. The series’ 108 chapters were collected into twelve tankōbon volumes by Shueisha, released from April 2, 2004, to July 4, 2006. While the anime came out a year later – October 21st of 2007. The anime includes the main characters- Light Yagami and L.  

Light Yagami finds a book, which has the title “death note” on it. The book has five rules for the human user to follow. The book is originally a shinigami’s book. A shinigami is an extra-dimensional species who survives by having humans killed to extend their own lifespans, granting them practical immortality. The anime had a few twists; however, it has its faults. I feel that they could have withheld the short ending. It left me feeling dissatisfied. I wished that they had given Matt and Mello more scenes and kept them living more. I feel that Light could have had a few other mess ups and that they weren’t able to predict every little thing they did. Light lost track of what he was dealing with and lost at his own game. I did enjoy that aspect.  

I definitely wished that they had made it longer or had another season – I think Near was not given enough credit or screen time and could have made Death Note so much better.  I wished they went more in detail about Near, Mello and L’s backstories. I think they did Misa wrong by making her basically nothing but a dumb blonde. They made her basically talentless and only popular based on her looks – which was kind of uncomfortable but not too unbearable.

Leave a comment